Peter Twinspots

For "miscellaneous" finch-related questions.
taffy
Pip
Pip

Peter Twinspots

Post by taffy » Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:04 am

Good afternoon,

I have been breeding with finches for the last four years and have been unsucessful with my Peter Twinspots. They either abandon nest early, or lay eggs then abandon the eggs etc.

I went away on holiday on the 13th Dec 15, finding my one breeding pair nesting in a finch box +- 1,5m off the ground. They seemed happy in there and they were both religiously laying on the eggs.

I was convinced they would pull it off this time albeit being in the wrong nest. When i got back from holiday there was 3 x babies in the nest. I must admit these babies do look a tad different to what i am used to.

The problem is now this. The Peter Twinspots are hovering in the area of the nest and babies, but my Blue Headed Parrot finches are feeding the babies??

Is this possible that the Blue Heads took over the nest?

I suppose i can wait and see when they fledge but right now my curiosity has the better of me.

Thanks, looking forward to some answers

Taffy

Sally
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Re: Peter Twinspots

Post by Sally » Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:49 pm

taffy That will be quite something if the Parrot finches are feeding the Twinspot babies! Or maybe the Parrot finches are the ones that laid the eggs in the nest. From what I have read, Peter's Twinspots prefer to build a nest on or very near the ground. Please keep us posted, it will be interesting to see how this develops.

Welcome to the forum! There's lots of good reading at www.finchinfo.com, where you will find many articles on finch care. If you put your general location in your profile, it makes it easier to answer locale-specific questions later on.
3 Purple Grenadiers, 1 Goldbreast + 1 cat.

National Finch & Softbill Society - http://www.nfss.org

wilkifam
Weaning
Weaning

Post by wilkifam » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:53 pm