2 males 1 female in same cage

For questions about finch enclosures (cages & aviaries).
crazycoop12
Pip
Pip

2 males 1 female in same cage

Post by crazycoop12 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:05 pm

Please be patient I am new to finches. I purchased what was supposed to be a female black cheek zebra finch and a regular zebra finch. Turns out I think the black cheek is also a male. They were both in the same cage when I got them. I have another group that I purchased that is 2 females and 1 male. All three of them are nesting in 1 nest. I can tell one of the females is the odd duck out though. The 2 males also sleep in the same nest. My question is can I put one of the females in with 2 males or will this cause problems? Thanks!

tinysparrow
3 Eggs Laid
3 Eggs Laid

Re: 2 males 1 female in same cage

Post by tinysparrow » Sun Dec 02, 2012 11:21 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum! It sounds like you have some beautiful zebras! Its generally not recommended to put three zebras together, and having 2 males and one female will be very hard on the female. Its best to house zebras in even numbers, or as you said, they will leave one poor bird out and it will get picked on.

Since you have five birds, would it be possible for you to get another female to even it out?
amy :-B

crazycoop12
Pip
Pip

Post by crazycoop12 » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:42 am

Thank you! I think that is what I am going to do. I think I will leave them alone for now until I find another female. Then I can put 2 in each cage. Also, I have read that I shouldn't breed a black cheek with a black cheek. Is that true? If so, can I put any type of zebra finch with the black cheek? Will I get black cheek babies?

GeeQ13
Pip
Pip

Post by GeeQ13 » Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:24 pm

Two pairs will not work because it will be a constant warzone inside the cage but three pairs or more will do depending of the size of your cage(flight.) TinySparrow is right though, that two males and a female will not work also.

Zebrafincher
Proud Parent