My NEW DIY (Not very good) small Aviary.

For questions about finch enclosures (cages & aviaries).
ShannTmw
Nestling
Nestling

My NEW DIY (Not very good) small Aviary.

Post by ShannTmw » Thu May 17, 2018 2:11 pm

I’ve never worked with wood or tools before (other then popsicle stick and glue!) so this is all I could come up with.
I have 6 finches, two zebra males, two zebra females and two society males. I had two pairs in three different cages then introduced them all in the Aviary. So far everything is great. My two society’s love everyone and want to be with them but they seem to be left out a lot. The older pair seem to run the cage and to be 100% honest my Kiwi, who can’t fly the best and has a lame wing is the most dominant in the cage next to her mate! I was so surprised! I thought she’d be bullied.
My new baby tho who is only around 2-3 months old might be having her first clutch... I’m not planning on letting them keep the babies.
I had a woman ask me if I wanted her two 6 week old babies. She didn’t have a cage for them and the father was attacking them. She didn’t have any of them in the proper cages (very small) and didn’t have proper food either, I felt terrible leaving them so I took the babies.
There is a male and female zebra and they adore each other. But I’m not sure if they were as young as she said. Anyways it seems like she’s having her first clutch and she’s very stressed. She’s eating her eggs and cuddlebone but I’m not sure what else I can do for her. I feel terrible because she is so young and I know it isn’t right.
Anyways. TThe point of the post!
I had an issue getting a cage online so I built one myself. It didn’t take me long and it was fairly cheap!
I’m very proud!
I haven’t built the stand yet but that’s the next part!
Attachments
Ambrose is the most aggressive I have. He doesn’t pick on any one in particular but he does chase and hiss at everyone. Over food and if they go to his nest. (That’s normal right?)