nightstand conversion to finch cage - how to fit a tray?

For questions about finch enclosures (cages & aviaries).
tympan
Pip
Pip

nightstand conversion to finch cage - how to fit a tray?

Post by tympan » Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:27 pm

Hi! I'm totally new to owning birds (I'm an wildlife illustrator so I draw them all the time!) and have a few questions about a potential build.

I scored this topless ( :wink: ) nightstand for nearly free - measures 24 x 24. I was hoping to use the top drawer to hold a tray. I was planning to cut down the inside sides of the drawer to hold a tray larger than the drawer itself, but still narrow enough to open.
in case image embedding doesn't work

Then, my concern was - while opening out the drawer/tray to clean (tray would be at the very top of the drawer btw) a bird could get stuck behind it somehow and it's a decently tall drawer.

The other option I suppose is to add a top to the nightstand and build a cage with its own tray (similar to this one: http://www.finchforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12140) on top of it. Building a working drawer might be pushing my woodworking skills a bit, but I'm fairly cavalier and can generally figure stuff out.

I initially plan to house a pair of zebras to get my toes wet.

Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Re: nightstand conversion to finch cage - how to fit a tray?

Post by Icearstorm » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:44 am

tympan

24" is not wide enough for a permanent cage, unless you let them out in a room daily to fly around more. 30" width is considered the minimum for finches.