Ok to feed goldfinch babies with Vita Craft pro baby Canary?

Learn what to feed your birds.
luya
Pip
Pip

Ok to feed goldfinch babies with Vita Craft pro baby Canary?

Post by luya » Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:37 am

Hey, newbie here.
I found these birdies in the street, I think one is wounded but eats ok.
Some say they are goldfinch but I have no clue.

I went to a pet shop and they only got this food "Vita Craft pro baby Canary" for baby birds:
https://www.qualipet.ch/p-13265-vitakra ... rien-200g/

So I am feeding the chicks with a syringe now. Half water, half this mix and some juice from grape.
Is this ok or should I make my own? What would you suggest me?
And also, when would they fly? I want to release asap.
Thanks
Attachments
goldfinch babies
goldfinch babies

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Re: Ok to feed goldfinch babies with Vita Craft pro baby Can

Post by lovezebs » Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:35 am

luya

Hello and welcome to the Forum.

I have no idea what they are, but if they were on the street, I would hazard a guess that they are the fledglings of some wild bird, that lives in your are.

Very often people will pick up fledglings, thinking they're abandoned when in reality they're not. The parents come back and feed them, but that's neither here nor there at this point.

I would give a call to your nearest wild bird sanctuary or wildlife rehab, and ask what you should do with them (especially if one is injured, it might need vet care).

In the meanwhile continue feeding the Canary baby food for lack of anything else.

Good luck.
~Elana~

Linnies~ Canaries ~ Zebras ~ Societies ~ Gouldians ~ Orange Cheeks ~ Shaft Tails ~ Strawberries ~ Red Cheek Cordon Bleu ~ Goldbreasts ~ Red Brows ~ Owls ~ Budgies ~ Diamond Firetails ~ Javas ~ Forbes Parrot Finches ~

Babs _Owner
Molting
Molting

Post by Babs _Owner » Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:31 pm

luya