Gouldian sick? or what?

For concerns related to avian illness and wellbeing.
kiwi & mango
Persistent Pursuer
Persistent Pursuer

Gouldian sick? or what?

Post by kiwi & mango » Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:06 am

My male gouldian......I noticed that most of the white feather ends had left my males face after he finished molting about 3 weeks ago...but the other day I noticed alot on his face agian all from the beak towards his eyes?

He is eating and sleeping like normal...no notice to anything out of the norm for them.

thanks

Sally
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Post by Sally » Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:59 pm

I have had that happen--just when you think they are finished molting, pin feathers pop out again. It can drag on for quite some time.

kiwi & mango
Persistent Pursuer
Persistent Pursuer

Post by kiwi & mango » Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:16 pm

since I am new to the whole gouldian finch family there is nothing to worry about?

Also are there any signs phically for air sac mites? not that I think he has that but for future reference.... :D
thanks

EmilyHurd
Complete Clutch
Complete Clutch

Post by EmilyHurd » Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:54 pm

The biggest sign for air sac mites in gouldians that I've noticed is that they will click or make a sneezing type sound, mainly at night. I also notice scaley type stuff on the wings, kind of on the inside of the upper parts of their wing.

kiwi & mango
Persistent Pursuer
Persistent Pursuer

Post by kiwi & mango » Sat Oct 13, 2007 8:20 am

Hi