Itchy Gouldian

For concerns related to avian illness and wellbeing.
Sqqueamishossifrage
Pip
Pip

Itchy Gouldian

Post by Sqqueamishossifrage » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:55 am

Hello! Howdy! Help..? :?

Pretty new to Gouldians. Inherited mine from a friend’s mother-in-law, then came about two boys from a local pet store that I have gone to for years. Two month quarantine, no problem. Over the last week my purple breasted male has been grooming more in general, but it’s in that that I noted small ruffles of missing feathers. Nothing severe, but I’ve worked with plenty of species of bird before, but I’m also a veterinary technician so I know some (including myself) would say I can be the worst sort of pet parent. The vets I work with have so far recommended I up their vitamins some, increase overall temperature (deep south Texas has been unseasonably cold on and off the past few months), and monitor their eating (great appetites) and overall demeanor. While he’s a bit more quiet than the others, he still sings and flits about with the others, but I can’t help but think mites? Opinions? Suggestions?

Tonight I’m taking some general cage fecal samples and loose feathers in to run cytologies, for peace of mind and staff training, but I’m new to this species and even my vets seem overly cautious until we can better ID a single problem.
Attachments
612E7FBF-60EF-41FF-BF63-5C126647B343.jpeg
0921CCC4-0CAC-449F-9C64-54313938E241.jpeg
3F7F79C5-1CD0-4224-8C7E-8688743C0FAC.jpeg

Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Re: Itchy Gouldian

Post by Icearstorm » Fri Jan 18, 2019 2:35 pm

Sqqueamishossifrage