Finch Paralysis/Death

For concerns related to avian illness and wellbeing.
ruthwallis
Pip
Pip

Finch Paralysis/Death

Post by ruthwallis » Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:38 am

Hi guys!Unfortunately I had to have my beloved little girl Bella (Zebra Finch) put to sleep last week due to illness and have been left with a lot of unanswered questions and I'm just looking for other peoples thoughts/advice on the situation. A long story short, Bella began showing sudden symptoms such as excessive urination, at times no urates or faeces just urine, excessive drinking, quiet, dirty vent and fluffed up feathers. Watery vegetables were immediately removed but this did not help and she was put into an isolation cage. I'm not a bird expert but I suspected Polyuria. She was taken the the vets, when at the vets she started passing large amounts of blood out of her bottom. She was prescribed antibiotics, 0.5ml to be given as drinking water, but I was not given an idea of what illness/disease it could be and told just to carry on as normal with diet/vitamin water. I asked for tests to be performed but none were. A few days followed and she seemed to slowly be doing better and her urination and excessive drinking returned to normal and she seemed to be doing great. However the following morning I found her paralysed, she had gone to bed as normal, but the next day could not fly and lost the ability to use her eyes, legs and her wings were constantly twitching. It was very disturbing to watch. As heartbreaking as it was I choose to have her put to sleep as she was clearly suffering very much. A different vet who put her to sleep suspected it was respiratory but she never showed any symptoms that I no of and had been treated for air sac mites etc. I was also told to stop feeding my birds cooked eggs and never give vitamin drops via drinking water. When I asked for further tests to be done I was told tests are expensive and I would be better off having an autopsy performed at a centre that does a