Bengalese Finches

Tips for successful breeding and troubleshooting breeding problems.
Luke Harrison1992
Hatchling
Hatchling

Bengalese Finches

Post by Luke Harrison1992 » Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:43 am

I have just bought a pair of Bengalese finches at the pet shop and am hoping to breed them in a cage with four other zebras i have two questions and hope for any thoughts
1. Will they be ok with the zebs(i was told by the pet shop lady that they will)?
2. Will they breed with zebras?
3. how do you tell what sex they are i have heard one doing a strange sort of song?

P.S I thoght there were two q's

LucyLover
Pip
Pip

Post by LucyLover » Sun Nov 05, 2006 12:01 pm

Hey! Alright, I'm a beginner, but I know this info will be useful.
I bought a male Society (Bengalese) finch from a petshop to fill an empty cage. I had heard that finches are happier in groups, even mixed species. Well, I saw a male Zebra with clubbed feet (both of them) and now they are the best of friends. Actually, the society turned out to be female and now they are breeding. If ypu keep an eye on the posts called New owner-need help please!!!! or something like that, I have posted questions about the two species breeding. I can't help with the sexing part though. Sorry and Good Luck!

PS. If you have the societies paired up already I'm guessing they won't breed with the zebras. :roll:
"Never place a period where God has placed a comma." ~Gracie Allen

God Bless!
Grace R.
SW Michigan

Luke Harrison1992
Hatchling
Hatchling

Post by Luke Harrison1992 » Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:01 pm

They wernt an established pair in the shop but i have only heard/seen one singing so i am assuming that the are male and female

tina
Mature
Mature

Post by tina » Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:11 am

I have zebras and society finches but i keep all my bird pairs in seperate cages. zebra's can be aggressive with each other if they are in too close quarters, so i don't want to over crowd them.