Question about Nests for pairs of breeding society finches

Tips for successful breeding and troubleshooting breeding problems.
hfinney
Fledgeling
Fledgeling

Question about Nests for pairs of breeding society finches

Post by hfinney » Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:20 am

Hello. I am very new to finches. I have a male and two females, and he has mated with both girls many times over the last few weeks. I currently have one hen sitting on four eggs, and I can only assume they are all four hers since she is the only one sitting on the eggs during the day. However, the male is still mating with my other female. So I have a few questions.

They all three currently sleep in the one nest with the eggs in it. If my second female begins to lay more eggs, is it going to be too crowded with all those eggs (and hopefully babies) and two females trying to incubate their eggs?

Should I get a second nest to see if the second female will lay eggs in it instead?

If I get a second nest, will this cause the first hen to give up sitting on her eggs and move to the new one instead (to be with the other two birds if they move into it)? She seems fairly satisfied to be alone in her nest with her eggs, but I don't want to do anything to cause her to abandon them.

Any advice is helpful for this newbie! Thank you!

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Re: Question about Nests for pairs of breeding society finch

Post by lovezebs » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:32 pm

hfinney

I would attempt tp place another nest in there if you're concerned aboyt overcrowding, although they will probably still all crowd into the first nest :roll: . If the second nest causes any issues, it can always be removed.
~Elana~

Linnies~ Canaries ~ Zebras ~ Societies ~ Gouldians ~ Orange Cheeks ~ Shaft Tails ~ Strawberries ~ Red Cheek Cordon Bleu ~ Goldbreasts ~ Red Brows ~ Owls ~ Budgies ~ Diamond Firetails ~ Javas ~ Forbes Parrot Finches ~

hfinney
Fledgeling
Fledgeling

Post by hfinney » Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:07 pm