Female finch has egg hanging from butt

Tips for successful breeding and troubleshooting breeding problems.
Cassieorsaps
Pip
Pip

Female finch has egg hanging from butt

Post by Cassieorsaps » Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:54 pm

I'm new at all of this and have a pair of society finches who have babies. I've not bothered them much since i realized they had eggs in the nest. Yesterday I picked in as I thought I'd heard bqbiesnans sure sure enough there are four and they already have feathers. Today the mom was out and I was shocked to see an egg hanging on her butt - at least that's what it looks like. What in the blazes do I do.

cindy
Bird Brain
Bird Brain

Re: Female finch has egg hanging from butt

Post by cindy » Thu Jan 18, 2018 12:13 am

is it broken and stuck because of the goo or is it encased in tissue/the uterine lining/prolapse..

if just broken stuck to her bottom from the sticky egg contents simply wash the vent area in warm water and gently loosen the egg off her feathers.

If prolapse ....Hens passing large eggs can also risk PROLAPSE, pulling the uterine lining/organ out...If this happens DO NOT PUSH THE ORGAN BACK IN THERE MAY BE TOO MUCH SWELLING IN THE BELLY.... very important!!! If the bird has swelling the hen will have pain if you try to push the prolapse back in right away and it will not stay in, coat the exposed organ in a water soluble gel like KY, do not use Vaseline or oils. Coating the exposed organ will keep the organ from drying out and dying until you get to the vet, give a heat lamp to one side of the cage.... if you have an avian vet seek help immediately!!! She will need care.
Last edited by cindy on Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

Zebra, Gouldians, Java, CBM Shaft tail & Grasskeets

~ My Facebook groups ~

*Finchaholics ~ finches, hookbills, softbills & canaries are welcome here!
discussions regarding species, housing, breeding, preventatives, treatments

*Birdaholics ~ Avian Classified Ads Only

cindy
Bird Brain