Need input/help with rare gouldian, should I breed?

Tips for successful breeding and troubleshooting breeding problems.
finchman
Fledgeling
Fledgeling

Need input/help with rare gouldian, should I breed?

Post by finchman » Thu May 10, 2018 2:58 pm

I need some advice on this gouldian and figured this was the right place to come! I am super excited to have recently acquired this gouldian finch. Trying to decide if I can, or even should try to breed this bird. From what I understand, it is whats called a half-sider. What this means is (she?) is two completely different birds genetically. So, you can, in theory have a half male, half female bird if the eggs that fused (inside the mother) are one of each sex. Normally I can identify the males and females without a problem. But this bird is heavily pied, particularly on the green/yellow side. I have a lot of experience breeding gouldians, but have never bred pied birds.

I can easily see her left side is a pied,blue back, black head, purple breast female. The other side is a bit trickier. I'm guessing it has to be genetically green with yelow pied markings? Because there is some black on the face? The breast would be female coloring, unless it's is lilac breasted. Thats just deductive reasoning on my part, as I said correct me if I'm way off on the pied mutation. I've been calling it a her, because it just seems nicer than "it" and I'm sure the one side is female!