Questions about Zebra Finch Mutations

Tips for successful breeding and troubleshooting breeding problems.
birdose
Hatchling
Hatchling

Questions about Zebra Finch Mutations

Post by birdose » Wed Dec 26, 2018 7:43 pm

Question: We recently got an orange-cheek zebra that has patches of white feathers all over his body and his name is Wilbert, along with a "normal" female (whose name is Poppy). We got Wilbert because he looked unique, and wanted to see what the babies would look like. Judging by his feather colors, he looks like one of his parents was all white and the other was normal, but I'm no expert on zebra finch genetics..
Is it possible to guess what the babies would look like between Wilbert and Poppy? Would the babies have white splotches too or would Poppy's genetics dominate?

Another question: We have a normal male black cheek zebra finch, and we're also thinking about putting him with a white black-cheek female. Would the babies come out mixed (with white splotches sorta like Wilbert) or would the male's genes be dominant? Or what if we put him with a white orange-cheek female zebra finch?

Sorry if the amount of questions if overwhelming; thank you so much if you take the time out of your day to respond! :)
☆Orange-Cheeked Zebra Finches, Black-Cheeked Zebra Finches, and Society Finches☆

Non-finch Friends: 2 dogs, 3 English budgies, a guinea pig, a rabbit, a cockatiel, and a lovebird

MariusStegmann
Weaning
Weaning

Re: Questions about Zebra Finch Mutations

Post by MariusStegmann » Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:19 pm

Wilbert sounds like he is a pied. Pied is dominant and therefore there would be a good chance that the chicks would also be pied.
Marius

birdose
Hatchling
Hatchling

Post by birdose » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:43 pm

MariusStegmann Awesome! Thank you for the reply!
☆Orange-Cheeked Zebra Finches, Black-Cheeked Zebra Finches, and Society Finches☆

Non-finch Friends: 2 dogs, 3 English budgies, a guinea pig, a rabbit, a cockatiel, and a lovebird

haroun