colour of zebra finch eggs?

Tips for successful breeding and troubleshooting breeding problems.
apachetear
Flirty Bird
Flirty Bird

colour of zebra finch eggs?

Post by apachetear » Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:49 am

hello. can anyone tell me what colour zebra finch eggs are supposed to be? my zf's have laid 4 eggs, they all started off white but now one is a yellow colour, 2 are a greyish blue and one looks yellow sometimes but grey other times ( weird i know, depends on the light) this is my first time breeding zebra finches so any advice on any aspect of it would be greatly appreciated.btw i haven't picked up the eggs as i don't want to disturb them.
also its been a week since the 3rd egg was laid if that helps.

also the male isn't allowed in the nest at night, she pecks him ALOT if he dares go in the nest at night, is this normal?

thanks in advance.
10 zebra finches, 1 bengalese finch. 2 hand tame zebra finches
http://www.facebook.com/ZizFinches

CandoAviary
Good Egg
Good Egg

Re: colour of zebra finch eggs?

Post by CandoAviary » Thu Sep 17, 2009 12:11 pm

As the chicks develope inside the eggs the yellow yolk changes to a grey (the chicks body).
Looks like you will have chicks soon...How long have the parents been setting?

lovemyfinch
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Post by lovemyfinch » Thu Sep 17, 2009 12:26 pm

I would say that the 2 that are greyish blue looking are fertile and what you see is the shadow of the baby, the one that is sometimes greyish may be the last egg laid so not quite as far along. If it has been just over a week, I would gander that the ones that are yellow are probably infertile. Just leave everything as is, I once removed 1 egg that was infertile from my zebras and she abandoned the nest. No harm can be done in just leaving it in there. Good Luck :D
Janine

shaftails,gouldians,societies,green singers,owls,cubans, and 1 parrotlet

apachetear
Flirty Bird
Flirty Bird

Post by apachetear » Thu Sep 17, 2009 12:59 pm