How common are fawn chicks from normal grey parents?

Learn about mutations and expected breeding outcomes.
merryweather
Pip
Pip

How common are fawn chicks from normal grey parents?

Post by merryweather » Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:35 pm

I am new to the finch world. We bought a pair of what looked to be normal gray Zebra finches. I expected that their proginy would also be all normal. Well, much to my surprise none of the chicks, five of them, are gray.

Are fawn colored chicks common to regular parents?

Do I even have fawn chicks? Are bothe parents 'normal'?

Please look at the picture and help me figure out if I have an anomaly or a common occurrence.

hilljack13
Jute Junkie
Jute Junkie

Post by hilljack13 » Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:43 pm

I'm no expert on genes but from I can tell in your picture your zebras are a bit lighter than normal greys. I think that if this is the case they both have a gene somewhere in them that is for light/cream/fawn etc. I'm guessing since they both have it then somehow the % of chicks that will be fawn or lighter is greater. Maybe just so happen all this time are fawn/cream.

merryweather
Pip
Pip

Post by merryweather » Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:12 am

Thank you for the reply.

Now that you mention it the hen seems to have a fawn color on the belly.

Are these colors supposed to change after their first molt?

Here is one of the lightest chicks:

merryweather
Pip
Pip

Post by merryweather » Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:32 am

Here is a close up of Ma Finch. She is so cute and capable.
There is nothing in which the birds differ more from man than the way in which they can build and yet leave a landscape as it was before. --Robert Lynd

hilljack13
Jute Junkie
Jute Junkie

Post by hilljack13 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:07 pm