Help with identifying two Gouldian finches

Learn about mutations and expected breeding outcomes.
hanabi
Mature
Mature

Help with identifying two Gouldian finches

Post by hanabi » Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:49 am

Hello all. This is my first post and I'd like to give a big thank you to all those who have provided such helpful replies to questions from newbies like me. I'm completely new to this hobby but I am already hopelessly hooked and have spent the past month reading as much as a I can about finches in general and Gouldians in particular. I find their genetics complicated but I love a challenge and have started "rewiring the synapses" to help remember all the possible phenotypes and their associated genetics. I'm close to finishing my first ... cage? ... mini aviary? I'm not sure of the correct term for something that is 1m (l) x 0.6m (d) x 1m (h) (that's about 40 x 24 x 40 inches), but in any case I think it should comfortably house a pair of Gouldians.

I'm from Australia but have lived in Japan for the last 15 years, working as a researcher and lecturer at a university. As other members from Japan may have already mentioned the finch scene here is very limited with pet shops usually selling only four or five of the most common species, if any at all. Rarer species can be purchased from breeders but there appears to be few of those here and, because it is now illegal to ship live birds (only counter-sales here now unless you have a breeder/seller licence) one is forced to travel long distances at quite an expense, making the purchase of one of two birds cost-prohibitive.