I Need IDs of my Zebras Please (Im New to this )

Learn about mutations and expected breeding outcomes.
Rowan
Pip
Pip

I Need IDs of my Zebras Please (Im New to this )

Post by Rowan » Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:59 am

Hi Everyone!
I'm Rowan live in UK. I bought a pair of zebra finches from a local breeder in London on 4th of February. According to the breeder this pair is non related and both born last year.I didn't know much about Zebra finches so I didn't know what else to ask. I bought them and made a cage using wood and cage wire by my own hands and provided them with a temporary cardboard nest box and the male started making the nest and I didn't want to interrupt him with his hard work so I left the nest box as it was. They both were very happy in the cage and finally laid 6 eggs and all hatched but unfortunately two chicks died because they were very tiny compared to the size of the others and not been fed. All I want is to ask you all if you can help me to ID these Finches. If you can come up with something that would be much appreciated. Thank you all !

These are some pictures of my Male.
20160315_120641.jpg
20160315_120631.jpg
20160315_120405.jpg
These are some pictures of my Female.
20160315_121120.jpg
20160315_121133.jpg

Sally
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Re: I Need IDs of my Zebras Please (Im New to this )

Post by Sally » Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:24 am

I'm not a Zebra expert, but your male looks like a normal Grey to me. The hen looks a bit lighter, but she may also be a normal Grey. There are others on the forum who will be better at IDing them for you. Please keep us posted on how the other 4 babies do.

Welcome to the forum! There's lots of good reading at www.finchinfo.com, where you will find many articles on finch care. If you put your general location in your profile, it helps later on when we are answering locale-specific questions.
3 Purple Grenadiers, 1 Goldbreast + 1 cat.

National Finch & Softbill Society - http://www.nfss.org

Rowan
Pip