Maybe reading to much

Learn about mutations and expected breeding outcomes.
Finley16
Hatchling
Hatchling

Maybe reading to much

Post by Finley16 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:05 am

I have been reading all day on the ladygoulds...most of everything I read says they are very hard to keep healthy? I was just wondering if that was true....I have until Monday to take my bird back to the pet store..I am not new to birds but am with this kind..I sure don't want to have the little fellow die all because I am new to this kind of bird...thank you for any reply...what I have read says they are unhealthy and hard to keep healthy..
Love my pets..2 dogs..Maltese and yorkie..2 betafish, 2 fish tanks, and of course my ladygould finch..

Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Re: Maybe reading to much

Post by Icearstorm » Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:49 am

Finley16

I have not personally kept them, but have been told that they are not as fragile as they are made out to be by people who have kept them, so long as they get good quality care (variety of fresh foods, good space to fly, etc). The main concerns seem to be air sac mites and chill.
Chill is fairy easy to prevent with a bird-safe heater (the bird may get too hot with a heat lamp unless it is in a large cage where it can move 3-4 feet away horizontally from the heat source).
Air sac mites are harder to prevent, as Gouldians often have them from the start. They can be controlled, but not treated, with success using medicines such as S76 and Scatt. Treatment is often impossible, as some mites will stay in the air sacs which the medicine cannot properly reach, as the air sacs do not have much blood flow. I have read conflicting information on air sac mite death rates, some say it is very low, only occasionally causing asphyxiation, while others say it's one of the top causes of death for Gouldians. In the case that both of these are true for Gouldians, it could mean that they are generally quite healthy and few health problems cause them much trouble.