Help IDing Society Morphs/Genetics

Learn about mutations and expected breeding outcomes.
nimure
Pip
Pip

Help IDing Society Morphs/Genetics

Post by nimure » Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:17 am

Hi! I'm new to society finches, and while I've been looking up everything I can get a hold of online, I was hoping I could get some help/confirmation from the folks on here.

I have a group of 5 adults currently. I've been trying to figure out what morphs they all are, as there are a few I can't figure out. Some are pet store birds, some are surrogates from a gouldian breeder. I know for sure one of the birds is a male (the coppery brown one with no white, chestnut self?). Not sure if there are more males in the group or not. The darkest bird (chocolate self?) is a female, and her and another female (one of the birds with white on it's face) are sharing a nest and raising a group of babies. I assume the coppery male is the father, but not sure if there are any other potential dads or if he is it.

There are 5 babies, 3 are dark like the dark female, two are fawn colored with pied markings? (Please feel free to correct me if I'm saying something wrong!)

Just trying to understand what morphs I have, who the likely parents are, and how the genetics work. Will the dark one always be dominant? Is pied a dominant trait?

This pic shows all 5 adults, the dark female on the bottom left and the coppery male to the top right. The three birds inbetween are all similar in coloration with varying amounts of white. One has a white chest.

White chest bird

Coppery dad in with babies, dark female on nest, one of the other 3 off to the side. Potential mother of the lighter babies but I'm uncertain.

Group photo. 9 eggs in the nest total, 5 fledgling birds

dark baby

fawn pied? Not sure..

Thank you for the time and assistance!! These are really fun little birds, and I love learning more about them.

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Re: Help IDing Society Morphs/Genetics