What is this Zebra Finch color called?

Learn about mutations and expected breeding outcomes.
sns
Pip
Pip

What is this Zebra Finch color called?

Post by sns » Sun Aug 23, 2009 1:13 pm

I'm fairly new to zebras, and this little one is from my second clutch. Momma is a chestnut flanked white, and dad is a normal grey. This baby is the only one that has been out of the nest so far, but from the remaining 3 in the nest, I see 2 others identical to this, and one looks like a pied. Wahat would you call this color? There are no tear markings, and the tail markings are the same color as the body. Excuse the mess of the little guy, the entrance to the nest seems to be where they like to leave their droppings, and this one sat in it for a bit before he (or she) came out, making a mess of himself. Thanks for any help!

L in Ontario
Mod Emeritus
Mod Emeritus

Re: What is this Zebra Finch color called?

Post by L in Ontario » Sun Aug 23, 2009 2:11 pm

Hard to tell for sure before they colour up. But I do know... it's cute!
Liz

lovemyfinch
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Post by lovemyfinch » Sun Aug 23, 2009 3:24 pm

Be interesting when it's all coloured up to see if it's not a silver. Adorable little fellow. :D
Janine

shaftails,gouldians,societies,green singers,owls,cubans, and 1 parrotlet

JohnBoy
Weaning
Weaning

Post by JohnBoy » Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:35 am

It appears it will be a fawn. ??

http://www.efinch.com/species/fawnzeb.htm
People Are The Ultimate Spectacle!
JohnBoy

sns
Pip
Pip

Post by sns » Fri Aug 28, 2009 2:46 pm