I'm in love....

Although they are technically passerines, canaries tend to be managed uniquely, so here is a forum just for them!
slwatson
Proud Parent
Proud Parent

I'm in love....

Post by slwatson » Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 pm

My sons and I were in Petsmart last week, buying food for the snake. I always check the bird section just to see what's new, and they had the most beautiful red factor canary (at least that's what I think it was....I have very little knowledge on canaries). It almost looked neon orange. I was pretty shocked at the price, so I didn't buy it that day, but I couldn't stopping thinking about it. So on payday yesterday, I bought the little beauty. No one at the store could tell me if they had heard it sing, so I don't know yet if it's a male or female. I bought something on Lady Gouldian that's a colorant for red factors, so I hope I did the right thing. I think I'm supposed to add it to the water. When does a canary molt?
Stacie
Look up Tweets & Beaks on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/Tweets-Beaks-1 ... 0/?fref=ts

BigBear0007
Weaning
Weaning

Re: I'm in love....

Post by BigBear0007 » Fri Mar 25, 2016 4:46 pm

Yup! Petsmart's prices are up there!
Don't give him the colour unles he is moulting.
You can put it in the water but the bird will get it everywhere.
I mix in the egg food I make for them.
Simple recipe is, hard boiled eggs grated with equal part bread crumbs and some seed as filler. I freezes well if you make slot. Also you can grate some carrot or broccoli?

Jerry

Below is my pair of bronze canaries.[album][/album]
Attachments
image.jpeg
image.jpeg

Spreckles
3 Eggs Laid
3 Eggs Laid

Post by Spreckles » Fri Mar 25, 2016 7:51 pm

slwatson
On my wishlist! By the time I get to Texas you and Colt may have everything I ever wanted......sigh.

Jamm972
Wonder Wooer
Wonder Wooer

Post by Jamm972 » Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:12 am