Any Pointers on Sexing Juvinile Canaries?

Although they are technically passerines, canaries tend to be managed uniquely, so here is a forum just for them!
Jamm972
Wonder Wooer
Wonder Wooer

Any Pointers on Sexing Juvinile Canaries?

Post by Jamm972 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:05 pm

So this is my first year breeding and so far I am up to 12 Baby juveniles. I know one way is to watch for the ones that are trying to sing. Or another way is see if 2 canaries are fighting.

Does anybody else have any pointers on how to sex canaries at such an early stage before the Molt Starts.

Also whats a good way to encourage the males to try to sing when they are housed in a flight cage with others siblings.

Should I just chance it and put them in individual cages and play canary songs and hope they sing.

I know there is DNA testing but as a breeder this is not suggested because its costly.

What do other breeders do or suggest.

Any advice would be appreciated and taken in.

Jamm972
Wonder Wooer
Wonder Wooer

Re: Any Pointers on Sexing Juvinile Canaries?

Post by Jamm972 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:13 pm

Also updating an onservation. 2 of the juveniles are now sitting next to each other like there cuddling as they sleep together. Is this a sign of opposite sex? It's happening with 2 pairs each night.

Paul's Amazing Birds
Flirty Bird
Flirty Bird

Re: Any Pointers on Sexing Juvinile Canaries?

Post by Paul's Amazing Birds » Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:57 am

In June, I don't worry to much about sexing babies. Really impossible without expensive DNA work anyway. As soon as I see them eating hard and soft food on their own, they get to fly free in the open aviary for about 8 months. With a varied diet and plenty of exercise they gain in size and form. Those with slight variegation in color (brown spots) are sold un-sexed at wholesale prices after the molt. To answer your question; some juveniles may sit together (doesn't mean anything) but most are pretty independent.