Molting - now??

Although they are technically passerines, canaries tend to be managed uniquely, so here is a forum just for them!
Hop-Sing
Pip
Pip

Molting - now??

Post by Hop-Sing » Mon Apr 09, 2018 5:32 pm

I brought Hop-Sing home about a month ago, and have been careful to cover his cage with a black fleece cloth to match the sunrise and sunset. But when I came home today, several feathers fluttered down from his cage. Should he be molting now? I thought it was supposed to be late summer. Am I doing something wrong, and is molting at the wrong time bad for him? I'm really new to canaries.

Dave
Sisal Slave
Sisal Slave

Re: Molting - now??

Post by Dave » Mon Apr 09, 2018 5:48 pm

It may not be a molt, it may just be some feathers worked loose.

Can you find out if your bird's previous home followed the light routine?

I've bought several birds in the last few years. One of the hens took almost a year before she fell into the proper seasonal rhythm.
Dave

Campbellsville, Kentucky, USA
Canaries

canary3000
Nestling
Nestling

Post by canary3000 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 6:34 pm