Healthy pairings for dominant white canary, and buff/yellow?

Although they are technically passerines, canaries tend to be managed uniquely, so here is a forum just for them!
kimikeef
Pip
Pip

Healthy pairings for dominant white canary, and buff/yellow?

Post by kimikeef » Wed Mar 27, 2019 4:33 pm

Hello! I posted here a few months ago when I was setting up a larger cage for my darling little American Singer. He's settled in quite well and is bold and happy (although whoever suggested that coco husk substrate would be too messy... you were absolutely correct!) I would love to get a mate for him eventually but after a little reading about dominant whites, I'm unsure what color would ensure humane and healthy breeding if/when they mate. It sounds as if anything but another dominant white would be acceptable, is that correct?

I am also unsure whether he is buff or yellow - I detect no yellow bleeding through on his cheeks but I am not experienced in telling the difference! A link to imgur, as I could not get the images to link correctly - http://imgur.com/a/qScMM3w

Last note: I have never bred canaries before. My mother did, but as I recall none of the chicks survived and the hen did not live a particularly long life. I suspect the hen was older, possibly 4 or 5 at the time my mother got her, but it may have been a lack of proper diet. I would hate to cause harm like that and I believe I understand the basic lighting, temperature, dietary and nest requirements for breeding, but if any of you with more experience could chime in on 1) when it would be best to introduce a hen and 2) any common mistakes and problems you are familiar with, I would greatly appreciate it. I am still reading. Thank you for your patience, I know this is a rather long and inexperienced post. Feel free to tell me I'm moving too fast!

Rob
Flirty Bird
Flirty Bird

Re: Healthy pairings for dominant white canary, and buff/yel

Post by Rob » Fri Mar 29, 2019 12:29 pm

I'll do my best to help.