Classroom pet

For the discussion of everything concerning all varieties of hookbill birds
Harley2013
Amateur Architect
Amateur Architect

Classroom pet

Post by Harley2013 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:27 am

I am a preschool teacher. Ages 3-5. I have had hamsters, guinea pigs, fish, even hatched chicken eggs in the classroom for my kids. I was thinking about getting a parakeet for them this time. Any input on this for this age? I am wanting to find one that is fairly young that can be held, and touched. I have read something's on Austrailian vs. English budgies. Any input on this? I read that English are significant larger and more laid back, calmer, quieter and possibly better for smaller children? Any info from experienced would be appreciated. Thank you
Tammie (ME!);D

Harley (Red-factor canary)~ RIP my songbird ~5/4/14
Franklin & Olive ( budgie)
Lou (19 year old son)
Tanner (24 year old son)
Love of my life Lou Jr.

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Re: Classroom pet

Post by lovezebs » Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:50 am

Harley2013
My concern would be, that these children are awfully young to be actually handling a fragile little bird. Also, budgies, even young ones, can give a really good bite if they feel threatened.

I guess my main worry would be for the bird, being dropped, crushed, stepped on, sat on etc.

~Elana~
~Elana~

Linnies~ Canaries ~ Zebras ~ Societies ~ Gouldians ~ Orange Cheeks ~ Shaft Tails ~ Strawberries ~ Red Cheek Cordon Bleu ~ Goldbreasts ~ Red Brows ~ Owls ~ Budgies ~ Diamond Firetails ~ Javas ~ Forbes Parrot Finches ~

Harley2013
Amateur Architect
Amateur Architect

Post by Harley2013 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 1:29 pm