Crimson-rumped Waxbills

For more specific questions related to the many varieties of captive finches.
Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Crimson-rumped Waxbills

Post by Icearstorm » Mon Apr 03, 2017 8:39 pm

It looks like I may be getting two crimson-rumped waxbills shortly. I can find hardly any information on them, aside from that they are passive, breed fairly easily, and require similar care to the common waxbill. Does anyone have experience with these birds?

Jen
Weaning
Weaning

Re: Crimson-rumped Waxbills

Post by Jen » Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:08 pm

Sorry, but I have no experience with them....but can't wait for YOU to share yours along with some pics !!!!! Hope you get them SOON!!!

Jenny

Gouldians, Red Cheek Cordon Blue family, Gold Breasted Waxbills, Fire Finches, Owl finches, Yellow Face & Red Face Star Finches, Lavender Finches, Society Finches, Canary,Rosey Bourke, Scarlet Chested Grasskeets, Cockatiels, too many Guineas, Izzy my 16 year old cute doggie dog, two spoiled kitties!

Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Post by Icearstorm » Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:00 am

Jen
I want a male-female pair, but they are monomorphic, so I've only got a 50% chance of getting a pair. At $42 a bird, it's a risk, but I think I will take that risk, assuming the other bird comes in. Now I just need to make some space for them...

Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Post by Icearstorm » Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:30 pm

Jen
The store says they are not receiving any more ever. So I won't be getting the lone one.

w.l.
Incubating
Incubating

Post by w.l. » Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:48 pm

Icearstorm

That may well be because the East African countries where these birds used to be imported from stopped exporting about a year ago.

The rather similar Black-rumped and Common waxbills can still be imported from.West Africa, so you could consider those instead.

Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Post by Icearstorm » Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:53 pm

w.l.