Hand tamed owl Finch stop flying, help!

For more specific questions related to the many varieties of captive finches.
Gotbook
Pip
Pip

Hand tamed owl Finch stop flying, help!

Post by Gotbook » Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:04 am

Hi, I am a newbie to this site, and also a newbie to finches. I start my out door aviary one year ago with a pair of owl Finch and 4 goudians. Last summer my owl Finches had one chick but they toss him outside their best, I tried put him back but they kept pushed him out of the nest, so I brought him in and hand feed the little guy. He is the most affectionate bird, 5 days ago I noticed that he kept flying to the wall then hop around on the floor when I let him out of his cage. I was worry he has some type of infection, so I gave him bird antibiotic, today will be day six of the medication treatment, but still he is not himself, he doesn't fly around, he would let me hold him and scratch his head, but he still can't fly, some time he has his beak open and click it , he is not puff up or sitting in his food. I even use lice and mite spay to treat him tonight. If anyone went through this before, please give me some guidance. Thanks

debbie276
Bird Brain
Bird Brain

Re: Hand tamed owl Finch stop flying, help!

Post by debbie276 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:55 am

Could it possibly be that he is just molting and missing some feathers needed to fly well?
Debbie
long time breeder of lady gouldians:
Green
SF Pastel (SF Yellow)
Pastel (Yellow)
Blue
SF Pastel Blue (SF Yellow Blue)
Pastel Blue (Yellow Blue)

GREAT articles on avian lighting:
https://mickaboo.org/confluence/downloa ... ummary.pdf
http://www.naturallighting.com/cart/sto ... sc_page=56

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Post by lovezebs » Tue Nov 28, 2017 10:50 am

Gotbook

Welcome to the Forum,

Sorry to hear that your little fellow is not himself lately.

You mentioned that he's breathing with his beak open and clicking ....