Four female zebra finches have bonded, eggs

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
frozen
Pip
Pip

Four female zebra finches have bonded, eggs

Post by frozen » Wed Nov 02, 2016 2:18 pm

Hi. My name is Courtney. I purchased four female zebra finches on October 13, 2016 so I am fairly new to this. I never had prior experience with birds.

I did a bit of researching before purchasing, of course. I decided on getting four females because I wanted to avoid the risk of egg binding. I did not know that females will lay eggs without the presence of a male. I did know that they pair up.

Two out of the four were already paired when I got them. One of the remaiming two got along with both parties of this pair, but the other bird was picked on by what seems like the dominant of the mentioned three. The pair would sleep next to eachother and the one that they got along with would sleep nearby. The solo bird however slept a good distance away and in a corner. I felt bad for it because she was also the smallest. So I bought her a nest so she could be comfy and warm (I now realize this was a mistake). I knew they did not require nests to sleep in; perches are fine; but I just felt so bad for the little one. Anyway, I placed it right where she had been sleeping and sure enough she claimed it as her own and became territorial over it, even towards the dominant bird. This made me happy to see.