New to Zebra finches

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Vonkreeps
Pip
Pip

New to Zebra finches

Post by Vonkreeps » Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:59 pm

Hi everyone! I'm new to owning Zebra finches and have a few questions I'm hoping you guys can help me with. Bit of back story. I accidentally became a finch owner when one appeared in my backyard, eating the seed I feed the wild birds. Since I live in Canada, I knew I had to catch it or else it would have died once the temperature got cooler. I caught the male finch, had it in a small cage for 2 days before going out and buying him a friend (another male) and a bigger cage. The two got on famously and immediately started preening each other. I've read that you should not give them nests if you have 2 males, however I did provide them with 2 nests and the two would sleep together in one (so cute).