Glad to be here! Would appreciate some advice!

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
tamichels
Pip
Pip

Glad to be here! Would appreciate some advice!

Post by tamichels » Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:22 am

I am pretty new to keeping finches, but have had great success so far due to the research I did prior to purchasing my birds. I truly enjoy these beautiful little creatures! I would love to get some advice from those of you who have been doing this for a while though. Here is my situation:

I have four society finches. Although I was not able to sex them when I purchased them, luckily I ended up with two males and two females.

I later wound up seeing a lone red-cheeked cordon bleu finch at a local pet store, and felt so bad that she was by herself that I decided to buy her to add to my group. After an initial separation, she was added, but she was always alone. The society finches didn't bother her, but they didn't accept her into their group. I didn't want to breed any birds, so I decided to purchase another female cordon bleu. They seem basically happy, but they have been making different calling noises lately, which makes me think they are wishing there was a male around!