New To Finches

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Weebs
Pip
Pip

New To Finches

Post by Weebs » Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:54 pm

I am brand new to Finches. A co-worker has a pair of Finches who had two babies. I think the babies are approx 6 weeks old. She was telling me about them one day and said that the Dad was beginning to be very mean to one (pecking it badly) and she really needed to figure out what to do with them.

I let her know I would take them both (one is/was white and the other a very beautiful grey). I spent a couple of weeks researching their needs and purchased supplies + cage and making sure my home was ready. I brought the cage to her Tuesday and she caught the babies and brought them to the office yesterday. They spent the day in the office and seemed perfectly fine - eating, sleeping and chirping away. I did notice that the white bird was super clingy to the grey one and the grey one would sometimes get upset at the white bird - kind of screaming at it with it's head lowered. It happened a few times and then they would go back to cuddling, as though nothing happened.

Long story short, I drove both home in my car after work. About a 15 minute ride home - cage covered in a thin blanket. About an hour after I got home, the white bird had a crazy burst of energy and was all over the cage... almost in a panic for a few seconds. Then he fell over on his side and couldn't get back up (he was trying very hard). Then he just died. I couldn't believe it! Did he just get too stressed out from the day and couldn't handle it anymore?