Is my zebra finch stressed or sick?

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Wcaronna
Pip
Pip

Is my zebra finch stressed or sick?

Post by Wcaronna » Sun Dec 04, 2016 12:32 am

Hi all-

Im new to owning finches and my new finch, which I just brought home today is not making any sounds. She is opening her mouth but nothing is coming out. Is she stressed? She hasn't eaten or done anything. Any advice would be appreciated. I did cover the cage so she can rest if she is stressed.

Thanks

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Re: Is my zebra finch stressed or sick?

Post by lovezebs » Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:02 am

Wcaronna

Hello,

I would offer food and water, a warm lamp on one corner of the cage, a shaded corner on the other corner, and leave her alone.

It does sound like your bird is stressed and probably afraid.
Zebra finches are extremely social birds, and it's really not recommended to keep a lone bird. Another female, would be a good companion for your little girl.

Good luck, and welcome to the Forum.

P.S. Please let us know how things are going, and if you have any questions, please feel free to ask.
~Elana~

Linnies~ Canaries ~ Zebras ~ Societies ~ Gouldians ~ Orange Cheeks ~ Shaft Tails ~ Strawberries ~ Red Cheek Cordon Bleu ~ Goldbreasts ~ Red Brows ~ Owls ~ Budgies ~ Diamond Firetails ~ Javas ~ Forbes Parrot Finches ~

Wcaronna
Pip
Pip

Post by Wcaronna » Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:10 am

Thanks- yeah I plan on getting another one real soon. I was scared to start out with 2. But I may go out tomorrow and get another one. I will try what you said and see if that helps. It looks like she laid a cracked egg just now. I have no idea what that means. Should I introduce a new finch while she is already stressed?

Thanks

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Post by lovezebs » Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:25 am

Wcaronna