Nesting boxes for sleep

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
ChrisieMae
Pip
Pip

Nesting boxes for sleep

Post by ChrisieMae » Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:27 pm

Hi, I'm an absolute novice to keeping finches and got into it by accident if you like :)
My question is regarding sleeping, I currently have two females caged separately at the moment as I've only had one of them for a couple of days but I've noticed that both don't like sleeping on their purches my new one would rather sleep holding on to the bars of he cage than on the purch which can't be good for her :(
What can I put in her cage for sleeping? Would a nesting box be an idea? And can I put nesting boxes in when I eventually put them together or could that cause problems etc
Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated as like I said I'm a total novice to birds!
Thanks in advance x

ChrisieMae
Pip
Pip

Re: Nesting boxes for sleep

Post by ChrisieMae » Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:13 pm

Oh and they are both European goldfinches :)

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Post by lovezebs » Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:51 pm

ChrisieMae

Sorry, but I honestly know next to nothing about Goldfinches.

However, assuming that in this particular matter they are similar to other birds, then no, they probebly don't need nests or boxes to sleep in.

My qyestions would be, what sort of perches do you have for them?
How big are the cages they are in? And do you have some fake greenery in the cages for them to hide in or behind? And, do you know if they are wild caught by any chance?
~Elana~

Linnies~ Canaries ~ Zebras ~ Societies ~ Gouldians ~ Orange Cheeks ~ Shaft Tails ~ Strawberries ~ Red Cheek Cordon Bleu ~ Goldbreasts ~ Red Brows ~ Owls ~ Budgies ~ Diamond Firetails ~ Javas ~ Forbes Parrot Finches ~

isobea
Incubating
Incubating

Post by isobea » Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:01 pm