Zebra finch color mutations and cage size

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Summerrboyy
Pip
Pip

Zebra finch color mutations and cage size

Post by Summerrboyy » Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:41 pm

Hello everyone. I am new to zebra finches and recently got two pairs. I was wondering if anyone could help me determine what colors I have. Also if the cage I have for them is big enough and how many finches can live in it. The cage is 31-inch long, 20-1/2-inch wide and 53-inch high with 1/2-inch wire spacing. Thanks everyone
Attachments
IMG_6207.JPG
IMG_6210.JPG
IMG_6208.JPG
IMG_6206.JPG

lem2bert
1 Egg Laid
1 Egg Laid

Re: Zebra finch color mutations and cage size

Post by lem2bert » Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:48 pm

Summerrboyy

Hi from Massachusetts !! :-H

I do not own zebra finches but many members on here have them. I am sure someone will be able to help you as far as experience on how many to safely house in that size cage.

Beautiful little zebras ! And a wonderful cage for them. :)
Betty 1 toy poodle and canary.

Nicole R.
Hatchling
Hatchling

Post by Nicole R. » Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:00 pm

Summerrboyy

Welcome! I think you will find lots of great support here. There is a "number of birds per cage" calculator on finchinfo.com and you can input your cage measurements and it will tell you how many finches can be comfortably housed.

You can find it here:
http://www.finchinfo.com/housing/cage_s ... ulator.php

Try it out for yourself and see what it tells you.

I am sure others will chime in about your color types.

Best wishes,
Nicole
2 red billed firefinches
2 red cheeked cordon bleus
2 owl finches
2 seagreen parrot finches
All yet to be delivered
Non-breeding (all male) mixed community

MisterGribs
2 Eggs Laid
2 Eggs Laid

Post by MisterGribs » Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:46 am

If you can, I would try trading in for a cage that's wide from side to side, instead of tall.