Supplement Routine?

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
adamfromsubway
Pip
Pip

Supplement Routine?

Post by adamfromsubway » Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:36 pm

I am new to finches and am the proud new owner of two Lady Gouldians. I am giving them seed, powdered egg food, powdered kelp, and some oyster shell grit. I'm curious how you supplement your birds and what methods work well for you. I mixed the kelp with the eggshell the first time and then read that they will eat the kelp powder by itself when offered in a separate dish so I'm going to try that as well. I also read that they like a lot of fruit and vegetables and boiled eggs which I am going to try tonight as well. Anyone want to share how they supplement their birds and what their favorite treats are? I've always had cockatiels and hook bills before and they never liked fruit or vegetables, I think because they didn't have them early on in life. What do you guys give your birds?

Dave
Sisal Slave
Sisal Slave

Re: Supplement Routine?

Post by Dave » Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:39 pm

I'm not much on supplements. But, Gouldians need extra iodine (I'm told) so I add that to the water, per instructions on the bottle.

I offer a seed mix, sunflower chips, boiled egg mashed up with the shell, greens like kale or brocolli or other dark green vegetables, and a mineral mix that includes shells and minor minerals.

That's it. I've done that for years and don't seem to have trouble with breeding success. However, I don't raise waxbills or other species that require live food.

My birds are in a 16' x 8' aviary, and get plenty of exercise. I think lots of exercise, while not a supplement, is really important.
Dave

Campbellsville, Kentucky, USA
Canaries

Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Post by Icearstorm » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:14 am

adamfromsubway