Heartbreak and confusion

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
France81
Pip
Pip

Heartbreak and confusion

Post by France81 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:10 pm

Hello everyone! I'm a newbie here and I'm in desperate need of advice. First of all I'm located in Derby,CT. I had a pair of Lavender Waxbill finch for almost 7 years now, 2 days ago one of them passed away. The one that is left is doing fine, but I can tell that he is missing his companion. I'm trying to locate a companion but I can't find one, I called many different places without luck. Now I'm lost and don't know how to proceed. Can you guys please offer me some advice? I wonder if it will be okay to add a different type of finch as a companion or it has to be Lavenders? My heart breaks every time I see him there all by himself, I have a Quaker right next to him but he needs another friend.
Thank you,
Ana.

Sheather
Proven
Proven

Re: Heartbreak and confusion

Post by Sheather » Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:36 pm

Another type of finch would comfort him. Maybe a society finch - they're very gentle, get along with other species, and are cheap and available at most stores which sell birds.
~Dylan

~~~

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Post by lovezebs » Sat Apr 01, 2017 12:49 am

France81

Another Lavender, would be ideal. Could you possibly order one in?

As Sheather ( Dylan ) mentioned, Society finches are very Social and friendly, but I'm not entirely certain if the Lavender would be interested in cuddling with the Society .
~Elana~

Linnies~ Canaries ~ Zebras ~ Societies ~ Gouldians ~ Orange Cheeks ~ Shaft Tails ~ Strawberries ~ Red Cheek Cordon Bleu ~ Goldbreasts ~ Red Brows ~ Owls ~ Budgies ~ Diamond Firetails ~ Javas ~ Forbes Parrot Finches ~

France81
Pip
Pip

Post by France81 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 9:04 am