Overpreening and knowing when to separate?

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Trinosaur
Pip
Pip

Overpreening and knowing when to separate?

Post by Trinosaur » Sun May 14, 2017 6:17 pm

I've made a couple posts here, but since I'm new to the hobby I'm still learning lots of things. I have 2 society finches (one male, one female) and they seem to be getting along very well for the most part. They snuggle together a lot and chirp happily at each other as they flit about the cage during the day. I'm not interested in breeding and don't have the means to support more birds so I'm not offering them a nest or nesting materials. They seem to be doing fine without it, however the male still tries to court the female and perhaps aggressively so?

I don't know if I'm reading too much into it, but my female is missing more feathers under her neck than usual and I've caught the male preening that area a lot. The female doesn't really reciprocate this behavior either. He's mounted her numerous times when I've been in the room too and I've caught the female hunched down with an open beak seeming annoyed; I don't think it's air-sac mites because it's not a constant thing and only seems triggered by the male's behavior.

I didn't get the male that long ago (and didn't know he was male at the time) so I do still have a window of opportunity to return him and try again with a different bird (hopefully another female). Any thoughts on this matter? I'm unsure how to proceed here.

Babs _Owner
Molting
Molting

Re: Overpreening and knowing when to separate?

Post by Babs _Owner » Sun May 14, 2017 10:29 pm

Trinosaur

Societies aren't known for plucking (always a first time). If they seem busy and chatty and they sleep snuggled close, a bond may have already formed.

The female could be very young and not ready to mate, or most likely, there is no nest provided so she will not allow him to mate (good job on your part).