Male Aggression Question

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
hfinney
Fledgeling
Fledgeling

Male Aggression Question

Post by hfinney » Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:43 am

I’m new to the forum, and I’m new to finches. I adopted three precious finches (one male and 2 females) about 10 days ago. I know you are supposed to have them in even-numbered groups, but these three had already been together for over a month and were very peaceful. The store is waiting to get more finches is, so I was planning to even my numbers out soon.

In the meantime I’ve seen my male mate with one of the females many times over the last several days. However, he and the other female (that he is NOT mating with) are the ones actively building the nest. I’ve noticed tail feathers missing from my male and the female he is not mating with, and I’ve seen the male nip at her tail and pull her wings several times. I’ve seen him sing to her as if he’s asking to mate with her, but she always flies away (whereas he is successful with the other female).

Can anyone help me understand why the male is being so aggressive towards this female? Is it because she won’t mate with him? Is he just defending his territory because he has mated with the other female? What is my best course of action? Thanks for your help!

andiok
Perfect Partner
Perfect Partner

Re: Male Aggression Question

Post by andiok » Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:53 pm

hfinney
Hi and welcome to the forum.
what type of finches are those?

hfinney
Fledgeling
Fledgeling

Post by hfinney » Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:54 pm

Sorry. They are society finches.

lovezebs
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Post by lovezebs » Thu Oct 05, 2017 2:14 pm

hfinney

Societies, not Zebras then.

With Societies, it's a different ball game from Zebras.

Aggression in Socies, is very rare.