Possible eggbound zebra finch?

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
KingTrashBird
Pip
Pip

Possible eggbound zebra finch?

Post by KingTrashBird » Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:36 am

I'm fairly new to having finches, but I've had several other kinds of birds in the past.

A little history, I initially got two female zebra finches a few months ago. After about a month I noticed an egg appeared, and there was one new egg every day for about three days before the second finch laid an egg, so that day there were two new eggs. One finch, Marshmallow, was quite a bit bigger, and the other finch, Popper, I assumed was younger because the striped feathers on her tail were still coming in. I'm 99% sure Marshmallow was the one laying the eggs consistently, and Popper only laid maybe one or two. That went on for a couple more days. Then two or three weeks later the eggs started appearing again. Around this time I had to take a trip, and I took the birds to my mom's house for her to watch them. She was reporting back a new egg every day until three or four days in when there were two new eggs. It got up to seven in total before I got back home. But when I brought the birds back to my house, I noticed Popper acting differently. A lot less energetic, a lot quieter, and she would spend a lot of time in the nest during the day, which is unusual for them. At one point Popper was in the nest and Marshmallow was standing on the edge yelling to me. The next morning, I found Popper dead at the bottom of the cage. :cry: I'm almost certain it was because she was egg bound and I didn't realize/didn't help her the right way soon enough.