Travelling With Finches

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
kmtabird
Pip
Pip

Travelling With Finches

Post by kmtabird » Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:25 am

Hello everyone. I'm new to this page so bare with me. I have two zebra finches, and they're about young adult age as far as I know. (They've already started laying eggs, I got them in August.) I have a question about travelling with finches. I'm travelling to a new province ( I live in Canada.) to make the trip in one day would be 10 hours. However, that's a long drive. So I will probably be driving 5-6 hours for the first day, and then 4-5 hours the next day. I'm just wondering how Finches handle travelling? I've read a couple posts on here already, but most of them are only travelling across town or trips that only take about 2 hours. I will be travelling in a mini-van, which has a storage unit in the trunk that fits my birds cage perfectly (I transferred them from one house to another within the same city). I also read that birds can get easily stressed. If anyone has any tips on travelling with them, if it's safe to travel 6 hours (max) at a time, with rest stops along the way of course. We will be driving during march, through the mountains where it's cold. I will be bringing plenty of blankets and towels to keep them covered/warm. Any tips for separating the cage space so they don't fly around too much? I'm moving for 6 months and then travelling back to where I currently live. Any advice or tips are welcome. Because I'm moving for 6 months I don't want to leave my babies with someone (my mother would take care of them) while I'm gone. I love them very much and want to bring them with me, but if it's a health risk I will have to keep them with my mother. Thank you.

Sally
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Re: Travelling With Finches

Post by Sally » Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:24 am