Advice please

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Branching out
Hatchling
Hatchling

Advice please

Post by Branching out » Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:31 pm

Hello, I am based in the UK and have kept Budgies and a canary for the past five years or so. I have nearly 40 years experience in fishkeeping but am becoming increasingly interested in birds, think finches are interesting and now have a study in which I can keep them safely.

I have been reading on the internet but this has just confused me. I will be building a cage in an alcove. It is 48 inches long, will measure either 15 or 20 inches from front to back and is planned to be 20 inches high. One thing I have read repeatedly is that height is not important but I could make the cage taller if necessary; certainly 30 inches and maybe more if it was to make a difference.

I am not particularly interested in breeding the birds; I have done that with fish and have experienced the issues of rehoming youngsters that are of sentimental value to me but limited value to others; I would like an interesting cage with attractive birds in. The current design means I could divide it into two 24" cages if necessary but I have done that really for ease of cleaning one half at a time and in cage of emergencies.

Using the cage size calculator and other information I have found,the internet seems to be telling me that I can only have one pair of finches in this cage, even though I could have a pair in a cage 18 inches by 15 by 15. Is this right? I understand that finches in stock cages at the aviary or pet shop are not there long term but I am not seeing what I think are really stressed birds in large groups in cages smaller than the one I am building. If finches are social, why only a pair and then what happens if one dies?