Beginner/Newbie Questions....!

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Triscuit
Pip
Pip

Beginner/Newbie Questions....!

Post by Triscuit » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:14 pm

Hello! I have some beginner-type questions, and hope you lovely people can help me!

I've always loved finches, but have never owned one. In fact, I've never owned any birds! I am a vet tech, though, and I am comfortable with all types of animals - I've had dogs, cats, Ryukin Goldfish, horses, hamsters, and mice. I feel confident I can care for birds, but I don't want to rush into this without doing my research.

I'm sorry if these questions are very ignorant!

1. We know that dogs found for sale in large chain pet stores are the product of puppy mills. Is it the same for birds?

2. Is there any problem with having dogs and finches in the same household? Obviously they wouldn't interact, but is noise/dog hair and dander a concern, at all?

3. In the event I have to relocate due to a job, is it difficult to move birds cross-country via car? Is it terribly stressful?

4. Are there certain climates that finches shouldn't be kept in? I currently live in a humid climate, but may end up moving to a more arid one.

FinchLover&Breeder
1 Egg Laid
1 Egg Laid

Re: Beginner/Newbie Questions....!

Post by FinchLover&Breeder » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:02 pm

1. Sometimes. It depends on the store and stuff like that.
2. I haven't found any problems between my dog and my birds health wise but my little dog doesn't like my birds.
3. It's not difficult if you know what your doing. It can be stressful for the birds sometimes. All depends on the bird, length of the trip, and other variables.
4. Don't keep them in areas that are too cold or dark. They need light and heat to be healthy.

Any other questions? It helps if your location is in your profile of a general area of where you are.

Nick
Pets:
6 zebras and counting
1 society and counting
2 hermit crabs