Newbie Questions About Zebra Finches

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Wilhelm
Pip
Pip

Newbie Questions About Zebra Finches

Post by Wilhelm » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:02 pm

I'm rather new to the hobby, and although I don't have a bird yet, I am going to get a Zebra Finch and have some questions. I've done some basic research, and have heard that they do not like to be handled or to have a hand in their cage, and this brings of the problem of cleaning. I was wondering if any, more experienced, owners would tell me how they clean their finch's cage without causing undue stress to the finches. Another question I have is about cats, mainly how to keep them away. I have one cat, and I have a room which it doesn't much wander in where I was planning on placing the cage. This room can be easily closed off, but I am wondering if there is another prevention mechanism that I could use alongside just being vigilant, and providing negative stimuli to my cat when it comes in the room. Thanks for taking the time to read this, and for any help you can give.

Flight Feathers
Brooding
Brooding

Re: Newbie Questions About Zebra Finches

Post by Flight Feathers » Sun Apr 15, 2018 12:50 am