Java Finch - Food/exercise advice/get a companion finch?

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
colinrossmcarthur
Pip
Pip

Java Finch - Food/exercise advice/get a companion finch?

Post by colinrossmcarthur » Thu May 10, 2018 8:38 pm

Hello all,

I've recently been entrusted with taking care of my girlfriend's sister's Java Finch named Dante while she is abroad at university. I have no experience with pet birds, so forgive my ignorance.

He's very friendly, talkative and even hyperactive at times in his cage. I've taken a real liking to him, and he even seems to have taken a liking to our dog Charlie, which is surprising to say the least. Anyway, I'm hoping to make his life as enjoyable as possible.

There is very conflicting information online, and I've found pet store employees to be less than useful so i just have some basic questions

- Beyond Finch seed mix, what kinds of food are recommended?

- Should I let him out of his cage for exercise? If so, any safety precaution recommendations?

- How best can I manage his nails?

- Is purchasing another Finch companion advisable? I am worried that he can get lonely, right now I'm working from home but that won't be the case in the medium term. I've read very conflicting information online, whether getting another male, or getting a female is advisable. I am not interested in breeding at all, so I am worried about getting a female, but I am worried that a male will fight with him.

All advice is greatly appreciated

Thanks!

Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Re: Java Finch - Food/exercise advice/get a companion finch?

Post by Icearstorm » Thu May 10, 2018 9:01 pm

colinrossmcarthur

Broccoli and boiled or scrambled eggs are good additions. Broccoli can be offered every day, and egg can be provided once or twice a week. If he is moulting, then you can give him egg every day, as the protein is good for growing feathers.