Help! Male zebra finch is terrorizing female

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
HillbillyFinch
Hatchling
Hatchling

Help! Male zebra finch is terrorizing female

Post by HillbillyFinch » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:23 pm

It's to the point I feel like the male zebra is raping the female because she keeps trying to get away from him and he is mating her multiple times a day. She screams out every time he does it or attempts to now. They have been mating non-stop several times a day for over a week and no eggs. I've thought she might be too old to lay as she is a little bigger than him. He just mated her and she was crying out and then after he stopped he literally came back at her and body slammed her off the perch and she landed on her side on the cage floor. I'm new to bird keeping, but he seems brutal. He is also constantly tearing up the paper in the cage no doubt for nesting material. What should I do?

I have another flight cage with a pair of society finches. Should I put the female zebra in with them? Or since it would be three birds would she be the odd one out and get picked on or feel lonely or since she is a zebra will she attack them? Will the male society be in a big hurry to mate her too? I don't even know how to catch her to remove her since I don't have a net and the pet stores don't sell them. The female zebra isn't the friendliest either as she started dive bombing my hand when I tried to put the cuttlebone back up after it had fallen and she seemed to purposefully squirt outside the cage as she flew at me. She has never done that before. What should I do? Is there such thing as birdie tranquilizers?

wildbird
Brooding
Brooding

Re: Help! Male zebra finch is terrorizing female

Post by wildbird » Sun Jul 08, 2018 10:29 pm