Finch communication & body language

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
singsong
Pip
Pip

Finch communication & body language

Post by singsong » Tue Jan 29, 2019 5:17 pm

Hi, everyone! Do you know any resources that talk about how finches communicate and what different body languages and sounds mean? Or would you please share some of your observations with me?

I'm brand new to keeping birds (just got my first 4 finches over the weekend) and still learning. There are some great sources of information for most topics, including housing, feeding, and all that good stuff.
One thing I haven't found is a good guide or explanation of finch behavior. I don't have a lot of experience with birds, so interpreting what they're doing is still pretty hard.

For example, one of mine was fluffing/shaking her feathers every few seconds when I first got them up this morning, and I was wondering if it meant she was happy, nervous, itchy, or what. :P

The only information I've been able to find online about bird communication is about other types of birds and I'm not sure how much it "translates" for finches. Here's an example of one I found about budgies: http://littlefeatheredbuddies.com/info/ ... guage.html

Anything like that for finches? Or what can you share from your own experience?

Thank you!

Icearstorm
Weaning
Weaning

Re: Finch communication & body language

Post by Icearstorm » Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:26 pm

singsong

What species do you have? Different ones have somewhat different behavior.

Fluffing and shaking (called "rousing" by falconers) helps get the feathers in proper position. It is usually a sign of comfort, and is frequent after they bathe; they usually combine rousing with wing-flapping to dry off more quickly. If they rouse continuously without being wet for 5+ seconds while leaning forward or picking at themselves, there may be something bothering them (mine do this when another bird poops on them).