Unexpected Eggs - Advice Needed.

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Hyansith
Hatchling
Hatchling

Unexpected Eggs - Advice Needed.

Post by Hyansith » Fri Feb 15, 2019 3:51 pm

I'm new to keeping finches, although I know quite a bit about them as I work in a pet shop and thus have studied them.

Long story short, I've had 3 African Silverbills for about 3 weeks. 1 cock and 2 hens. I was convinced they weren't getting on as the male was getting chased and pecked quite a bit. He's been singing and dancing quite a bit, but the girls just didn't seem bothered at all. No worry I think, I wasn't really planning any serious breeding of any kind, they are still really lovely birds. So..... you can imagine my surprise a few days ago when I realise there are 4 eggs in the nest.

Now, I've no idea if they are fertile. If fertile, I have no idea which of the hens is laying. Both hens are nesting pretty much constantly. When they aren't they are taking turns getting food and water etc and pecking at the male, but there is always one bird in the nest at any given time. At night all 3 birds enter the nest until morning when the male emerges.

I could really do with some advice on how to tell if the eggs are fertile without candling them (I don't want to tamper with the nest) and furthermore what I should or shouldn't be doing for both the eggs and my birds.

Thanks in advance.

wildbird
Brooding
Brooding

Re: Unexpected Eggs - Advice Needed.

Post by wildbird » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:50 am