Tips for a new owner?

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
LunesEMartes
Pip
Pip

Tips for a new owner?

Post by LunesEMartes » Wed May 08, 2019 11:14 pm

I’m new to this, I’ve had my two male zebra finches for a few weeks. I’m working on diet and don’t need any more help with that.

Ok so I’ve researched this a lot but just wanna make sure before losing hope of this idea. The cage I have says it can house a third finch, a lot of what I’ve read advised against having three but some said it’s ok. Would it be ok to have a third zebra, or even a different type of finch? Or maybe a canary?

The second question is for tips for taming them? So far all I know is to go slow and try to get as close to them as you can without scaring them. Also to use their favorite food besides seed as a treat.

Oh and btw the cage setup so far is a nest, ladder, three toys, three of the natural perches, food dish, & 2 water dishes.
Six zebras:
Nieve & Peony
Peach & Poppy
Nube & Lunes
Two societies:
Duck & Evergreen

LunesEMartes
Pip
Pip

Re: Tips for a new owner?

Post by LunesEMartes » Wed May 08, 2019 11:15 pm

Oh and any recommendations for live plants for inside the cage?
Six zebras:
Nieve & Peony
Peach & Poppy
Nube & Lunes
Two societies:
Duck & Evergreen

Fraza
Molting
Molting

Post by Fraza » Thu May 09, 2019 12:30 pm

LunesEMartes

Firstly with zebras I would not add a third I’ve had plenty of zebras and it’s rare that you end up having three get along, the previous pair will usually bully the new one as they find it a threat.

For taming it is really hard I would suggest getting a rub and putting there favourite food in ther but only give it them once a day and then start pacing the tub on ur hand and let it jump onto the tub eventually try the food on ur hand
FINCHES I HAVE
Bengalese
zebras
Java sparrows
Silver bills
java x beng hybrid

PETS IVE HAD
dogs
Fish
Cocktiel
Doves
Hybrid cherry x Bengalese
Stars
Heck’s
Canary’s