Help!

If you are new to the hobby and have some "newbie" questions - feel free to post them here! :0)
Squeak
Pip
Pip

Help!

Post by Squeak » Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:51 pm

I’m a new Zebra Finch owner. Mom and dad. Unfortunately they came with babies. All are healthy and getting along. But found 4 new eggs in nest this morning. Am looking to rehome the 2 babies...that appear to be a male and a female.

My question...is it inhumane to take the nest down in hopes that I can easier spot the eggs bc the nest hole is tiny and too small to get my hand in? I can’t handle anymore birds.

Please no negativity as I am new to this and very overwhelmed.

Thank you and any helpful advice is much appreciated. I enjoy these birds very much and take excellent care of them...but the egg laying has me flummoxed. I just didn’t realize they’d be laying eggs this often.

Should I try to get rid of the 2 females? I hate to separate the mama and dad.

Sally
Mod Extraordinaire
Mod Extraordinaire

Re: Help!

Post by Sally » Sat Sep 07, 2019 5:18 pm

Squeak

Unfortunately, Zebra finches are the rabbits of the finch world, they reproduce faster than you can rehome the babies. They do not need a nest for sleeping, nests are for reproducing, so the first thing to do is take out the nest, it is not inhumane to do so. I personally would toss the eggs.

I would try to rehome the 2 babies you already have, as Zebras will mate with their own babies, so dad/daughter or mom/son, and you don't want that much inbreeding. You could keep dad/daughter or mom/son if you didn't let them breed, but if you try to keep the two babies with their parents, eventually there would be squabbling. Two pairs don't usually get along well, as each pair wants to be the only one in the cage. Multiple finches do best with 3 or more pairs.